The inaugural Phil Fox Playwriting Award won by author’s first play

Outside Edge Theatre Company, the UK’s only theatre company and participatory arts charity focused on addiction, has named Silas Parry as the winner of the inaugural Phil Fox Playwriting Award, with his magic realist script set in Grimsby entitled LESSONS FOR DIVING, which is his first play. Parry will receive a £6,000 commission and mentorship from chair of the judging panel, Tony Award-winning playwright Enda Walsh, as well as the company working with Parry to develop his play.

The Phil Fox Award is named after the founder of Outside Edge, which is also celebrating its 21st anniversary this year.

The prize was created to recognise original scripts looking at issues of addiction, by playwrights from all backgrounds and experience levels. Also on the 2020 judging panel were leading industry figures Matt Applewhite (Nick Hern Books Managing Director and Commissioning Editor), Barbara Broccoli OBE (Film Producer), Sonya Hale (OETC Associate Theatre Facilitator and Heretic Voices award-winning playwright), Indhu Rubasingham (Artistic Director of Kiln Theatre), Matt Steinberg (OETC Artistic Director) and Simon Stephens (Tony and Olivier Award-winning playwright of The Curious Incident of the Dog In The Night-Time).

In recognition of the exceptional quality of submissions in this debut year, judges also awarded Special Commendations to two finalist playwrights for their scripts: Kristian Phillips (Drift) and Jack Stanley (Boomerang). Along with Lessons for Diving, the two Special Commendation scripts will receive a package of development support and a public reading in the new year.

The finalists are listed below, and you can see the shortlisted plays in the graphic image below


Boomerang by Jack Stanley

Drift by Kristian Phillips

Lessons for Diving by Silas Parry

Pushing on Open Doors by Sarah Connors

What’s Lost in the Gaps by Jack Robson


Congratulations to the winner, finalists and shortlisted writers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *